All of the winners of the Asian Media Awards

Panda Radio’s very own Kavita Kukar picked up the first Rising Star in Radio Award for her weekday show. She was in complete shock when her name was called but the cheers from the Panda Team and thunderous applause from the room pushed her up and onto the stage.
Kavita thanked the rest of the team and her mum, whilst telling the audience that she never expected to win the award.
Kavita said, “I think radio is such an important medium, and I love the fact I can educate and talk to so many people every day.”
Elsewhere in the awards, East is East and Ackley Bridge creator Ayub Khan Din was presented with the Sophiya Haque Services to British Television and Film Award.
Ayub said, “I’m delighted and honoured to accept an achievement award for a body of work that I hope continues to inform and entertain and hopefully inspire other young British Asian Men and Women to do the same”.
BBC Breakfast presenter Naga Munchetty was awarded the Media Personality of the Year honour by young ambassadors from the cancer charity CLIC Sargent.
Sky News Political Editor Faisal Islam who has broken a string of exclusive stories in the past year was named the Journalist of the Year.
‘Child Victims Rohingya’ by Ashish Joshi into the tragic plight of the Rohingya victims won the TV Report of the Year accolade.
ITV Central News journalist Balvinder Sidhu won the Regional Journalist of the Year award and Amani Khan triumphed in the Outstanding Young Journalist Category.
The Outstanding Young Journalist Award was won by ITV Granada’s Amani Khan.
There was a special award to commemorate 25 years in broadcasting for Tommy Nagra, who helped to launch some of the most defining programmes and careers on British television.
The highly coveted Best Investigation Award went to ‘White Right: Meeting the Enemy,’ a report by Deeyah Khan which explores the far-right in America.
In the radio categories, BBC Asian Network regained the Radio Station of the Year accolade. The station also celebrated a win with the Best Radio Show award for Late Night with Mobeen Azhar.
Palace Theatre and Opera House Director Sheena Wrigley with Sudha Bhuchar whose Production Child of the Divide was named Best Stage Production.
2018 Asian Media Awards Winners
Best Publication / Website 
Best Blog
Ibz Mo
Best Video Channel 
Ali Official
Best Live Event 
Paul Chowdhry ‘Live Innit’
Best Stage Production
Child of the Divide
Media Professional of the Year 
Vickram Sembhi
Media Agency of the Year
Creative Media Award
‘As British As’ Campaign
Best TV Programme / Show 
The Boy with the Topknot
AMA Best Newcomer 
Dúaa Karim
Best TV Character 
Sanjeev Bhaskar for DI Sunny Khan in Unforgotten
TV Channel of the Year 
Sony TV Asia
TV Report of the Year 
Child Victims Rohingya, Ashish Joshi for Sky News
Best Radio Show 
Mobeen Azhar
Rising Star in Radio Award 
Kavita Kukar
Regional Radio Station of the Year
Asian Star Radio 101.6FM
Radio Presenter of the Year
Anushka Arora
Radio Station of the Year 
BBC Asian Network
Regional Journalist of the Year
Balvinder Sidhu, ITV Central
Outstanding Young Journalist 
Amani Khan
Sports Journalist of the Year
Seema Jaswal
Best Investigation
White Right: Meeting the Enemy
MMU Journalist of the Year 
Faisal Islam
Outstanding Contribution to Media Award
Tommy Nagra
Media Personality of the Year 2018
Naga Munchetty
Sophiya Haque Services to British Television & Film 2018
Ayub Khan Din
2018-11-28T08:44:03+00:00By |

About the Author:

The Panda Team works 24/7 to bring you the best radio!